Polling Station

Birchills-Leamore by-election UPDATE

Polling Station

Candidates have now been nominated for the Walsall Council by-election for the Birchills – Leamore ward, which was called following the recent sad death of Councillor Joan Barton.

A former Mayoress of Walsall, Councillor Barton, who had represented Birchills – Leamore ward for Labour since May 1998, passed away earlier this month.

The by-election will be held on Thursday 22 December. Polling starts at 7am and ends at 10pm and the count will start soon afterwards in Walsall Town Hall.

The calling of the by-election so close to Christmas and within just six months of the 2012 Council elections did however cause some controversy in local political circles.

The candidates are as follows:

Kamran Aftab                 Conservative Party

Leandra Gebrakedan     Green Party

Liz Hazell                       UK Independence Party (UK I P)

Tina Joan Jukes             Labour Party

Chris Newey                  English Democrats – “Putting England First”

Wednesday 7 December is the last day for new applications to vote by post and Wednesday 14 December is the last day for new applications to vote by proxy.

Election details available so far, including full particulars of the above candidates, may be downloaded from the Walsall Council website.

Watch out for our Election Report in due course.